Home General Studies Indian Polity

Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)

news-details Image Source Oct 27, 2020 09:59 IST , Updated: Jun 05, 2021 09:59 IST · 2 min read

The Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) has laid down a defined procedure to be followed by government organisations for getting vigilance clearance before employing a retired official on contractual or consultancy basis.

Central Vigilance Commission (CVC)

Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) was set up by the Government in February, 1964 on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by Shri K. Santhanam. In 2003, the Parliament enacted CVC Act conferring statutory status on the CVC.

The Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) is an independent body which is only responsible to the Parliament and is not controlled by any Ministry/Department. It submits its report to the President of India.

CVC is the apex vigilance institution to monitor all vigilance activity under the Central Government and advise various authorities in Central Government organizations in planning, executing, reviewing and reforming their vigilance work.

Central government, Lokpal and Whistle blowers can approach to CVC with complaints on corruption or misuse of office. CVC is empowered to inquire into offences alleged to have been committed under the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 by certain categories of public servants.

Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) is not an investigating agency, it either gets the investigation done through the CBI or through chief vigilance officers (CVO) in government offices. CBI works under the overall supervision of CVC in matters related to the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988.


CVC consists of central vigilance commissioner along with 2 vigilance commissioners. They are appointed by the President of India on the recommendations of a committee consisting of Prime Minister, Union Home Minister and Leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha.

The Central Vigilance Commissioner or any Vigilance Commissioner have a term of 4 years or 65 years, whichever is earlier. After they retire, they are not eligible for reappointment in any central or state government agency.

The Central Vigilance Commissioner or any Vigilance Commissioner can be removed from his office only by order of the President on the ground of proved misbehaviour or incapacity after the Supreme Court, on a reference made to it by the President, has, on inquiry, reported that the Central Vigilance Commissioner or any Vigilance Commissioner, as the case may be, ought to be removed.

The Central Vigilance Commission has its own Secretariat - consists of a Secretary, four Additional Secretaries, thirty Directors/Deputy Secretaries (including two Officers on Special Duty), four Under Secretaries and office staff.

CVC also have a Chief Technical Examiners' Wing (CTE) and a wing of Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDI).

The Whistleblowers Protection Act, 2014 empowers the Commission as the competent authority to receive complaints relating to disclosure on any allegation of corruption and to provide adequate safeguards against victimisation of the person.

Popular in Indian Polity