Home Short Articles

Darjeeling Himalayan Railways (DHR)

Sep 02, 2021 17:34 IST , Updated: Nov 08, 2021 17:34 IST

India has finally registered the logos of the iconic "Toy Train" internationally as its intellectual property.

The use of these logos anywhere in the world will now require written permission from India and the payment of a fee.

The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway (DHR) has two logos, both of which have been patented.

A fortnight-long Ghum Festival is being planned to boost the people connect and tourism prospects of the iconic Toy Train of Darjeeling.

There are four fully functional and operational railways networks in mountains and hilly terrains in India:

1) The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway located in the foothills of the Himalayas in West Bengal.

2) The Nilgiris Mountain Railways located in the Nilgiri Hills of Tamil Nadu.

3) The Kalka Shimla Railway located in the Himalayan foothills of Himachal Pradesh

4) The Matheran Railway located in Maharashtra.

Built in the British era between 1879 and 1881, the Darjeeling toy train was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1999.

Other Mountain Railways Declared as World Heritage Sites are - Nilgiri Mountain Railways (Nilgiri Hills of Tamil Nadu - 2005) and Kalka Shimla Railway (Himachal Pradesh -2008).

Read next

National Technical Textiles Mission (NTTM)

Jan 20, 2022 · 1 min read

What is "E-Shram portal (Shramik Card)" ?

Jan 20, 2022 · 1 min read

The National Commission for Women (NCW)

Jan 20, 2022 · 1 min read