Major Revolt and Uprisings under British Rule

After the battle of Plassey in 1757, the political control of the East India Company increased and by the end of the eighteenth century, the British emerged as the main power in India.

As the Company gained in political sphere it became imperative to introduce and implement policies in the fields of land revenue, law and order, and set-up an administration.

These changes led to dislocation in the socio-cultural, economic and political life of the people.

The subsequent turmoil led to outbreak of rebellion in different parts of the country.

Rebellions were not confined to the later period of the British Empire but were a constant feature of it from its very beginning, culminated in to the revolt of 1857.

The Anandamath a Bengali fiction, written by Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay and published in 1882 is inspired by the Sannyasi Rebellion.

Revolt Period Area Leader
Sannyasi Revolt 1736-1800 Bihar & Bengal Kenna Sarkar
Fakir Revolt 1776-1777 Bengal Majnu Shah
Chuar Rebellion 1776-1816 Bengal Durjan Singh
Vellore mutiny 1806 Vellore, Tamil Nadu -
Paika Rebellion 1817 Odisha Bakshi Jagabandhu
Faraizi movement 1818 Bengal Haji Shariatullah and son - Dadu Miyan
Baghera Rebellion 1818 Vadodara, Gujarat -
Bhil Rebellion 1818 Khandesh, Maharastra Govind Guru
Wahabi movement 1820 Patna, Bihar Syed Ahmed Barelvi
Hoz revolt 1820-21 Bihar Nat Turner
Ramosi Revolt-I 1822-1829 Maharashtra Chittur Singh
Barrackpore mutiny 1824 Barrackpore, West Bengal Sepoy BindeeTiwary
Ramosi Revolt-II 1825-1826 Western Ghats, Maharashtra Vasudev Balwant Phadke
Pagal Panthi Revolt 1825-1827 Assam by "Garos", Karam Shah
Kol Revolt 1831-1831 Chhota Nagpur Buddhu Bhagat
Gadkari rebellion 1844 Kolhapur, Maharashtra Daji Krishna Pandit
Santhal Rebellion 1855-1856 Jharkhand four Murmu brothers Sidhu, Kanhu, Chand and Bhairav.
Indigo Rebellion 1859-1860 Bihar & Bengal Digambar Biswas, Bishnu Biswas
Kuka Movement 1872 Punjab Guru Ram Singh
Pabna Uprisings 1873-1876 Pabna, Bengal Ishan Chandra Roy
Kherwar movement 1874 - Bhagirath Manjhi
Munda Rebellion (Ulgulan revolt) 1899-1900 Ranchi, Jharkhand Birsa Munda (Dharti Aaba)
Tana Bhagat Movement 1914-1915 Chhota Nagpur Jatra Bhagat, Turia Bhagat
Moplah riots 1920-1922 Malabar, Kerala Ali Musliyar
Tebhaga movement 1946-1947 Bengal Kamparam, Bhavan Singh

The Bijolia movement (1st peasant movement) was a peasant movement in the Bijolia jagir of the former Mewar state (Rajasthan) against excessive land revenue exactions.

The Bardoli Satyagraha, 1928 was a movement in the independence struggle led by Sardar Vallabhai Patel for the farmers of Bardoli against the unjust raising of taxes.

Mahatma Gandhi gave the title of "Sardar" to Vallabhbhai Patel for his great organizational skills in the Bardoli Satyagraha.

The Bhoodan movement was initiated by Gandhian Vinoba Bhave in 1951 at Pochampally village, Andhra Pradesh.

Baba Ram Chandra was an Indian trade unionist who organised the farmers of Awadh, India into forming a united front to fight against the abuses of landlords in 1920s and 1930s.