Officers under the Maurya Empire (322-185 BC)

The Maurya Empire was a geographically extensive Iron Age historical power based in Magadha and founded by Chandragupta Maurya, which dominated the Indian subcontinent between 322 and 185 BCE.

Officers of the Mauryan Empire

Name Function
Mantrin Chief Minister
Mantriparishad Adhyaksha Head of Council of Ministers
Purohita Chief Priest
Senapati Commander-in-chief
Yuvaraj Crown Prince
Samaharta Revenue collector
Pautavadhyaksha Weights and measures
Yukta Subordinate revenue officer
Shulkadhyaksha Officer-in-charge of royal income
Prashasti Prison head
Sannidata Treasury head
Koshadhyaksha Treasury officer
Koshthagaradhyaksha Royal treasury manager
Nayaka City Security chief
Vyabharika Chief Judge
Karmantika Head of Industries & Factories
Dandapala Head of Police
Durgapala Head of Royal Fort
Annapala Head of Food grains Department
Rajjukas Land measurer
Pradeshika District administrator
Akaradhyaksha Mining Officer
Lauhadhyaksha Metallurgy Officer
Lakshanadhyaksha Coin minting
Lavanadhyaksha Officer of salt department
Swarnadhyaksha Officer of gold department
Ayudhadhyaksha Weapon manufacturing & defence department.
Kunyadhyaksha Officer of forest.
Panyadhyaksha Office of commerce department
Manadhyaksha Office of time & place determining
Sunadhyaksha Slaughter-house officer
Mudradhyaksha Royal symbol, coin etc.
Dyutadhyaksha Gambling department
Naukadhyaksha Shipping department officer.
Pattanadhyaksha Officer of Port.
Agronomai Construction of roads.
Sitadhyaksha officer in charge of agriculture

Mauryan Tax
Neme Meaninig
Bhaga Land Revenue
Bali Religious Tax
Sulka Custom
Vartani Toll Tax
Sita Revenue from crown land

Related MCQs