List of Governor-Generals (1773 - 1858) and Viceroys (1858 - 1948) of India

The Governor-General of India was the representative of the monarch of the United Kingdom and after Indian independence in 1947, the representative of the Indian head of state.

The office was created in 1773, with the title of Governor-general of the Presidency of Fort William.

Governor of Bengal (1758-1773)

Before 1773 Governor General of the Presidency of Fort William (Bengal) was named as Governor of Bengal, which was in existence since 1757 to 1772.

Robert Clive was the first "governor" (Not Governor General) of Bengal, and established dual government in Bengal from 1765 to 1772.

Name Took office Left office Notable Events
Robert Clive 1758 1760
Henry Vansittart 1760 1765
Robert Clive 1765 1767 Dual government in Bengal
Harry Verelst 1767 1769
John Cartier 1769 1773

Governor-General of Bengal (1773-1833)

The Regulating Act of 1773 created the office with the title of Governor-General of Presidency of Fort William, or Governor-General of Bengal to be appointed by the Court of Directors of the East India Company (EIC).

Warren Hastings was the first Governor-General of Bengal with tenure of office from 1772-1785.

Name Took Office Left Office Notable Events
Warren Hastings 1773 1785 Foundation of the system of Civil Administration.

Polity of Security cell.

Asiatic Society (1784) was founded during his time

Policy of "Ring Fence"

Abolished "Dual Government"

Prosecuted for impeachment

3rd Anglo-Maratha War

Pitt's India Act
Sir John Macpherson (acting) 1785 1786
Lord Cornwallis 1786 1793 Established Judicial Organization in India

created "Civil Services" in India

his grave is situated in "Ghazipur (Uttar Pradesh)"

third "Anglo-Mysore" war

Permanent Settlement
Sir John Shore 1793 1798
Sir Alured Clarke (acting) 1798 1798
Lord Wellesley
1798 1805 Subsidiary alliance
Fourth Anglo-Mysore war
Marquess Cornwallis
1805 1805
Sir George Barlow, Bt (acting) 1805 1807
The Lord Minto 1807 1813 Separate Electorate
Marquess of Hastings
1813 1823
John Adam (acting) 1823 1823
The Lord Amherst 1823 1828
William Butterworth Bayley(acting) 1828 1828
Lord William Bentinck 1828 1833 Abolished "Sati System" in "1829"

Social Reforms

Governor-General of India (1833-1858)

The Charter Act of 1833 re-designated the office with the title of Governor-General of India.

Lord William Bentinck was first to be designated as the Governor general of India in 1833.

Chakravarti Rajagopalachari was the last Governor-General of India.

Name Took Office Left Office Notable Events
Lord William Bentinck 1833 1835
Sir Charles Metcalfe, Bt (acting) 1835 1836
Lord Auckland 1836 1842
Lord Ellenborough 1842 1844 Abolished Slavery in 1843

Brishers conquered "Sindh" in 1843
William Wilberforce Bird (acting) 1844 1844
Sir Henry Hardinge 1844 1848
Lord Dalhousie 1848 1856 Doctrine of lapse

Public Work Department (1845-55)

The first passenger train ran in India in the year 1853 from Bombay (Bori Bunder) to Thane during the reign of Lord Dalhousie.
Lord Canning 1856 1858 Widow Remarriage Act (1856)

Viceroys of India (1858-1947)

Following the adoption of the Government of India Act of 1858, the Governor-General as representing the Crown became known as the Viceroy. Lord Canning was the first Viceroy and Lord Louis Mountbatten was the last Viceroy.

The Government of India Act 1858 created the office of Secretary of State (British MP) for India in 1858 to oversee the affairs of India, which was advised by a new Council of India with 15 members (based in London). Lord Stanley was the first Secretary of State for India.

The Council of India was later abolished by Government of India Act 1935.

Name Took Office Left Office Notable Events
Lord Canning 1858
Widow Remarriage Act (1856)

Read out queen's manifesto in Allahabad on "Nov 1, 1858"
The Earl of Elgin 1862
Robert Napier (acting) 1863
William Denison(acting) 1863
John Lawrence 1864
Masterly Inactivity
Lord Mayo 1869
First Census

Murdered by convicted prisoner
Sir John Strachey(acting)
Lord Napier(acting)
Lord Northbrook 1872
Lord Lytton 1876 1880 Vernacular Press Act
Lord Ripon 1880 1884 Local Self Government
Ilbert Bill
Lord Dufferin 1884 1888 Congress established in 1885
Lord Lansdowne 1888
Lord Elgin 1894
Lord Curzon 1899 1905 Longest Tenure
Partition of Bengal Archeological Survey of India
Lord Minto 1905
Lord Hardinge 1910 1916 Capital transferred from "Kolkata" to "Delhi"
Lord Chelmsford 1916 1921
Lord Reading 1921 1926 Only Jews viceroy of India
Lord Irwin 1926 1931
Lord Willingdon 1931
Lord Linlithgow 1936
Lord Wavell 1943
Lord Mountbatten 1947

Governors-General of the Dominion of India (1947-1950)

Name Took Office Left Office Notable Events
Lord Louis Mountbatten
First Governor-General of Independent India
Chakravarti Rajagopalachari 1948 1950 Last Governor-General of India, before the office was permanently abolished in 1950

Related MCQs