Home General Studies Geography of India

Hydro-electric Power Plants in India with River, Location & Capacity

N.K. Chauhan in Geography of India
Share this
Sep 21, 2021 , Updated: Apr 18, 2022 · 5 min read

Hydroelectric power is one of the most established and broadly utilized renewable sources of energy.

India is 5th globally for installed hydroelectric power capacity.

India's economically exploitable and viable hydroelectric potential is estimated to be 148,701 MW at 60% load factor. An additional 6,780 MW from smaller hydro schemes (with capacities of less than 25 MW) is estimated as exploitable.

The hydro-electric power plants at Sidrapong, Darjeeling (West Bengal) and Shivanasamudram (Karnataka) were established in 1898 and 1902, respectively. They were among the first in Asia and India has been a dominant player in global hydroelectric power development.

India also imports surplus hydroelectric power from Bhutan.

Small hydropower, defined to be generated at facilities with nameplate capacities up to 25 MW, comes under the ambit of the Ministry of New and Renewable energy (MNRE); whilst large hydro, defined as above 25 MW, comes under the ambit of Ministry of Power.

Hydropower is not completely clean because the dams produce significant amount of CO2 and Methane, both GHGs.

Three gorges project in China on Yang-Yang river is the largest power station in the world having installed capacity of around 18,200 MW.

Name River Location Capacity (MW)
Tehri Dam Bhagirathi Uttarakhand 2400 MW
Srisailam Dam Krishna Andhra Pradesh 1670 MW
Nagarjunasagar Krishna Andhra Pradesh 965 MW
Sardar Sarovar Narmada Gujarat 1450 MW
Baspa-II Baspa Himachal Pradesh 300 MW
Nathpa Jhakri Satluj Himachal Pradesh 1500 MW
Bhakra Dam Satluj Punjab 1325 MW
Baira Suil Power Station Suil river, tributary of Ravi Himachal Pradesh 180 MW
Pandoh Dam Beas Himachal Pradesh 990 MW
Baira Siul Ravi Himachal Pradesh 198 MW
Chamera-I Ravi Himachal Pradesh 540 MW
Chamera-II Ravi Himachal Pradesh 300 MW
Pong Beas Himachal Pradesh 396 MW
Uri Hydroelectric Dam Jhelum Jammu & Kashmir 480 MW
Dulhasti Chenab Jammu & Kashmir 390 MW
Salal Chenab Jammu & Kashmir 690 MW
Sharavathi Sharavati Karnataka 1035 MW
Kalinadi Kalinadi Karnataka 955 MW
Baglihar Dam Chenab River Jammu & Kashmir 900 MW
Idukki Periyar Kerala 780 MW
Sabarigiri Pamba Kerala 300 MW
Bansagar Dam Sone Madhya Pradesh 425 MW
Bansagar Dam Sone Madhya Pradesh 425 MW
Bargi Dam Narmada Madhya Pradesh 105 MW
Hirakud Dam Mahanadi Odisha 347.5 MW
Omkareshwar Narmada Madhya Pradesh 520 MW
Indira Sagar Narmada Madhya Pradesh 1000 MW
Loktak Manipur Manipur 105 MW
Koyna Koyna Maharashtra 1960 MW
Bhira Hydroelectric Project Mulshi Dam Maharashtra 150 MW
Teesta VI Hydropower Project Teesta Sikkim 510 MW
Tapovan Vishnugarh Dhauliganga (Alaknanda) Uttrakhand 520 MW
Tanakpur Sharda Uttarakhand 120 MW
Dhauliganga-I Dhauliganga Uttarakhand 280 MW
Loharinag Pala Bhagirathi Uttarakhand 600 MW
Shivanasamudra Kaveri Karnataka 42 MW
Ghataprabha Ghataprabha Karnataka 32 MW
Kaplong Kaplong River Andaman & Nicobar Islands 5 MW

Read next

Chronology of Important events in Modern Indian History

Modern Indian History
May 27, 2022 · 26 min read

Census 2011 - Basics, Summary and Important Findings

Indian Economy
May 25, 2022 · 11 min read

Important Harappan (Indus Valley) Sites in India

Ancient History of India
May 23, 2022 · 5 min read

Books, Magazine and Newspapers written by Indian Freedom Fighters

Modern Indian History
May 23, 2022 · 6 min read

Cabinet Mission to Partition & Independence (1946-47)

Modern Indian History
May 23, 2022 · 5 min read

Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose : The forgotten Hero

Modern Indian History
May 23, 2022 · 4 min read