Home General Studies Geography of India

The "Brahmaputra" River System

N.K. Chauhan in Geography of India
Share this
Aug 09, 2020 , Updated: Jun 08, 2022 · 2 min read

The Brahmaputra river is called Yarlung Tsangpo in Tibet, Siang/Dihang River in Arunachal Pradesh and Luit, Dilao in Assam.

It is the ninth largest river in the world by discharge, and the 15th longest.

It originates as Yarlung Tsangpo River from Chemayungdung (चेमायुंगडुंग) glacier, in the Manasarovar Lake region, near the Mount Kailash, located on the northern side of the Himalayas in Burang County of Tibet.

The source of river Sutlej, Brahmaputra, Indus, and Karnali (Ghaghara) is near Lake Manasarovar in Tibet.

Mariam La separates the source of the Brahmaputra from the Manasarovar Lake.

It breaks into Arunachal Pradesh (India) and flows through the Assam Valley as Brahmaputra and through Bangladesh as the Jamuna.

In Ganges Delta, it merges with the Padma (Ganga in Bangladesh), and finally, it becomes the Meghna and from here, it flows as Meghna river before emptying into the Bay of Bengal.

In Tibet, the Tsangpo receives a number of tributaries, the most important left-bank tributaries are the Raka Zangbo (Raka Tsangpo) meeting the Tsangpo near Lhatse Dzong, the Lhasa (Kyi) and the Nyang Qu (Gyamda).

On the right bank, a second river called the Nyang Qu (Nyang Chu) meets the Tsangpo.

The Yarlung Tsangpo enters the state of Arunachal Pradesh in India, where it is called Siang, finally appears in the plains, where it is called Dihang.

In the north-eastern parts of Assam Valley, it is joined by two important tributaries viz, the Dibang (or Sikang) from the north and Lohit from the south.


1) Left - Dibang River , Lohit River, Dhansiri River, Kolong River

2) Right - Kameng River, Manas River, Beki River, Raidak River, Jaldhaka River, Teesta River, Subansiri River

The Teesta river rises from Zemu glacier in Kanchenjunga massif in Sikkim. It joins the Brahmaputra on its right-bank in Bangladesh.

The Sankosh River originates from northern Bhutan region to flow through Bhutan, India, and Bangladesh. It is known by the name of Dudhkumar River in Bangladesh, it joins the right-bank of the Brahmaputra river near the Indo-Bangladesh border.

The Manas river flows through Bhutan and Assam in India before it joins the right-bank of the Brahmaputra river.

Kameng river rises in the Tawang district, Arunachal Pradesh in the eastern Himalayas. In Assam, it flows through the Sonitpur district before joining the Brahmaputra at Tezpur. The Kaziranga National Park and the Pakkhui Wildlife Sanctuary are located near the Kameng river.

The Subansiri River also known as Gold River rises in the Tibet region in the Himalayas. It joins the right-bank of the Brahmaputra river in the Lakhimpur district of Assam.

The Dibang River flows through the states of Arunachal Pradesh and Assam. It enters Assam plains near Roing.

The Lohit River rises in the eastern Tibet region. It joins the left-bank of the Brahmaputra at Sadia town in the state of Arunachal Pradesh.

The Dhansiri River rises from Liasang peak of Nagaland. It is the main river of the Golaghat district of Assam and the Dimapur district of Nagaland.

Read next

Major Local Winds around the World

World Geography
Jun 11, 2022 · 3 min read

"Major Dams in India" - related River name and State

Geography of India
Jun 11, 2022 · 5 min read

Major Valleys in India and their Location

Geography of India
Jun 11, 2022 · 5 min read