Home Current Affairs 2021-22

United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

N.K. Chauhan in International Relations
Share this
Apr 15, 2021, Updated: May 26, 2022 · 2 min. read

The United Nation Security Council (UNSC) got five new non permanent members (Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates).

Albania is joining for the first time while Brazil is taking an 11th turn.

United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

Like the UN as a whole, the Security Council was created in 1945 to address the failings of the League of Nations in maintaining world peace.

It is also charged with recommending the admission of new UN members to the General Assembly, and approving any changes to the UN Charter.

Five of the six main organs of UN - the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council and the Secretariat, are based at UN Headquarters in New York.

The sixth, the International Court of Justice (ICJ), is located at The Hague in the Netherlands.

The Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.

It has 15 Members, and each Member has one vote.

UNSC is also responsible for establishing peacekeeping operations, enacting international sanctions, and authorizing military action.

It is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions on member states.

Permanent member of UNSC

The Security Council consists of fifteen members, of which five are permanent: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America.

Permanent members can veto any substantive resolution, including those on the admission of new member states to the United Nations or nominees for the office of Secretary-General.

Non-permanent member of UNSC

Along with the five permanent members, the UNSC has temporary members that hold their seats on a rotating basis by geographic region.

On 31 August 1965, the General Assembly increased the number of non-permanent members of the Security Council from 6 to 10.

The General Assembly elects each year five non-permanent members of the Security Council for a term of two years.

The non-permanent members of the council are elected according to the following pattern:

1) Five from African and Asian States.
2) One from Eastern European States.
3) Two from Latin American States.
4) Two from Western European and other States.

A retiring member is not eligible for immediate re-election, the election is held by secret ballot and there are no nominations.

The non-permanent members of the Security Council are elected by a two-thirds majority.

UNSC & India

India, for the eighth time, has entered the UNSC as a non-permanent member on January 1, 2021 and will stay on the council for two years i.e 2021-22 (Upto December 31, 2022).

India was UNSC President in August 2021 and will preside over the council again for a month in December, 2022.

During its August Presidency, India organised high-level signature events on maritime security, peacekeeping and counterterrorism.

Ambassador Tirumurti is also the Chair of the Counter-terrorism Committee for the year 2022 in addition to continuing to Chair both the Taliban Sanctions Committee and the Libya Sanctions Committee.

The presidency of the council is held by each of the 15 members in turn for one month, following the alphabetical order of the member states' names.

Last seen in news on: Jan 07, 2022
Read next

India State of Forest Report 2021 (UP Special)

May 25, 2022 · 2 min read

Highlights of Union Budget 2022-23

May 25, 2022 · 6 min read

Highlights of "Economic Survey 2021-22"

May 25, 2022 · 10 min read

Avian influenza (Bird flu) - H5N1, H5N8, H1N1

Science & Tech
May 21, 2022 · 2 min read

Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY)

Gov. Schemes
May 21, 2022 · 3 min read