United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

The UN Charter established ECOSOC in 1945 as one of the six main organs of the United Nations.

It is at the heart of the United Nations system to advance the three dimensions of sustainable development - economic, social and environmental.

ECOSOC is responsible for coordinating the economic and social fields of the organization, specifically in regards to the fifteen specialised agencies, the eight functional commissions and the five regional commissions under its jurisdiction.

Over 1,600 nongovernmental organizations have consultative status with the Council to participate in the work of the United Nations.

ECOSOC holds one four-week session each year in July, and since 1998 has also held an annual meeting in April with finance ministers heading key committees of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Additionally, the High-Level Political Forum (HLPF), which reviews implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, is convened under the auspices of the Council every July.

The Council consists of 54 Member States, which are elected yearly by the General Assembly for overlapping three-year terms.

The president of the Council is elected for a one-year term and chosen from the small or medium sized states represented on the Council at the beginning of each new session.

The presidency rotates among the United Nations Regional Groups to ensure equal representation.

His Excellency Collen Vixen Kelapile (Botswana) elected as the seventy-seventh President of the Economic and Social Council on 23 July 2021, succeeding Munir Akram of Pakistan.

India and ECOSOC

In June 2021, India has been elected to the Economic and Social Council for the 2022-24 term.

In April 2022, India has been elected to the United Nations Economic and Social Council's (ECOSOC) four major bodies:

1) The Committee on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights
2) The Commission for Social Development
3) The Committee on Non-Governmental Organisations
4) The Commission on Science and Technology for Development