Home Current Affairs 2021-22

The Disaster Management Act, 2005

N.K. Chauhan in Polity
Share this
Apr 28, 2021, Updated: May 26, 2022 · 3 min. read

Lauding the National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) on its raising day on January 19, 2022, PM Modi said it is at the forefront of many rescue and relief measures, often in very challenging circumstances.

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) celebrates its Raising Day every year on January 19, since it came into existence on January 19, 2006.

The Disaster Management Act, 2005, provides for "the effective management of disasters and for matters connected there with or incidental thereto."

The responsibility of managing disasters in India is that of the State Government.

The "Nodal Ministry" in the central government for management of natural disasters is the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).

When 'calamities of severe nature' occur, the Central Government is responsible for providing aid and assistance to the affected state, including deploying, at the State's request, of Armed Forces, Central Paramilitary Forces, National Disaster Response Force (NDRF), and such communication, air and other assets, as are available and needed.

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)

The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) is the apex statutory body for disaster management in India.

It was constituted on 27th September 2006, in accordance with the Disaster Management Act, 2005.

It has Prime Minister as its Chairperson and nine other members - one such member to be designated as Vice-Chairperson.

The NDMA is responsible for laying down the policies, plans and guidelines for disaster management and to ensure timely and effective response to disaster.

NDMA also has the National Disaster Management Operations Centre which will be equipped with a state-of-the-art resilient and redundant communication systems.

NDMA also carries out the tasks of capacity development, training and knowledge management.

National Executive Committee (NEC)

A National Executive Committee (NEC) is also constituted under the act, it is composed of Secretary level officers of the GoI in the Ministries of home, agriculture, atomic energy, defence etc - with the Home secretary serving as the Chairperson, ex officio.

National Executive Committee (NEC) assists the NDMA and is responsible for the preparation of the National Disaster Management Plan for the whole country and to ensure that it is "reviewed and updated annually".

State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA)

State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA) consists of the Chief Minister of the State as the Chairperson, and no more than eight members appointed by the Chief Minister.

The SDMA is mandated to ensure that all the departments of the State prepare disaster management plans as prescribed by the National and State Authorities.

District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA)

The Chairperson of District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) will be the Collector or District Magistrate or Deputy Commissioner of the district.

The elected representative of the area is member of the DDMA as an ex officio co-Chairperson.

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)

The National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is an Indian specialized force constituted "for the purpose of special response to a threatening disaster situation or disaster" under the Disaster Management Act, 2005.

The NDRF is led by a Director-General appointed by the Central Government.

The Director Generals of NDRF are IPS officers on deputation from Indian police organisations.

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) is a force of 12 battalions, organised on para-military lines, and manned by persons on deputation from the para-military forces of India.

National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF)

National Calamity Contingency Fund (NCCF) was renamed as National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF) with the enactment of the Disaster Management Act in 2005.

It is defined in Section 46 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005 (DM Act) and placed in the Public Account of Government of India under reserve funds not bearing interest.

Public Accounts consists of those transactions where the government is merely acting as a banker eg. provident funds, small savings etc.

These funds do not belong to the government and have to be paid back at some time.

Expenditures from it are not required to be approved by the Parliament.

Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) audits the accounts of NDRF.

Last seen in news on: Jan 20, 2022
Read next

India State of Forest Report 2021 (UP Special)

May 25, 2022 · 2 min read

Highlights of Union Budget 2022-23

May 25, 2022 · 6 min read

Highlights of "Economic Survey 2021-22"

May 25, 2022 · 10 min read

Uttar Pradesh current affairs (June 2022 to April 2022)

May 30, 2022 · 10 min read

Uttar Pradesh current affairs (March 2022 to January 2022)

May 30, 2022 · 4 min read