Home Current Affairs 2021-22

ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations)

news-details Image Source Nov 05, 2021 13:22 IST · 1 min read

PM Modi participated in the 18th India-ASEAN Summit at the invitation of His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah of Brunei, the current Chair of ASEAN.

The Summit was held virtually and saw participation from the Leaders of ASEAN Member States.

Highlighting the milestone of 30th anniversary of India-ASEAN Partnership, the leaders announced the Year 2022 as India-ASEAN Friendship Year.

ASEAN is an economic union comprising 10 member states in Southeast Asia, which promotes intergovernmental cooperation and facilitates economic, political, security, military, educational, and sociocultural integration among its members and other countries in Asia.

In 2003, ASEAN moved along the path of the European Union by agreeing to establish an ASEAN community comprising three pillars: the ASEAN security community, the ASEAN economic community, and the ASEAN socio-cultural community.

ASEAN is a major partner of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) and maintains a global network of alliances and dialogue partners.

It was stablished in 1967 with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by - Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Ten Members: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

It is India's 4th largest trading partner with about USD 86.9 billion in trade.

Latest articles